I 1/2 2 P

Grandfather injured, arrested in Walmart brawl

On the eve of Thanksgiving, my mom and I made a trip to Walmart for the items on the bottom of my grocery list.  I needed to pick up a few more things to pull off the culinary masterpiece I would prepare the next day.  On our way out of Walmart, I rented a few movies from the Red Box.  I thought a few movies would be the perfect half time between the tryptophan slumber and the cheesecake sugar rush.  Tommy steeped in the brining solution while my parents and I watched the first movie that night.

I cooked for 4 hours straight Thanksgiving morning.  I missed the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day parade and the National Dog Show.  The oven could barely keep up with my fury.  I did Paula Deen proud with 2 1/2 lbs. of butter, 2 dozen eggs, and a pint of whipping cream.  My feet and back ached, but it was a sacrifice worth the end.  Herb roasted turkey, real mashed potatoes, homemade GF corn bread stuffing, Campbell’s green bean casserole with a parmesan cheese surprise,  sweet potato casserole, GF corn souffle and pumpkin cheesecake with dark chocolate pecan crust.  Thanks be to God for the abundance on my table.

After a piece of pumpkin cheesecake, my parents hit the road back to Ohio.  I needed to return my movies to the Red Box.  Their curfew was 9:00 pm.  When I pulled into the parking lot, I realized I was just in time for the pre-Black Friday sale.  As I pulled into a parking spot in the back 20, I finally saw the vision of the engineer who designed the Walmart parking lot.  It always seemed to be twice as big as needed.  For the 2011 10 pm pre-Black Friday sale, it would not be big enough.

I decided to take a stroll around the store after returning the movies in the box.  I was shocked!  Utterly amazed!   Lines of people wrapped around the fruit and vegetable area, but they were not waiting for a special on the Very Veggie Salad Mix.  A bright yellow vest caught my eye.  Walmart workers donned flourescent yellow vests market “Event Staff” and walkie talkies as they stood guard over the $4.97 Faded Glory jogging pants and $10 Color Workshop eye color set.  Shoppers were sitting on the floors or leaning on their shopping carts near the plastic wrapped flat of whatever their heart desired.

After a walk around the perimeter of the store, I headed for the door.  I was nearly mowed down by a woman.  She was talking on her cell phone, motioning her daughter toward Customer Service, and holding up an index finger signaling to a friend that she needed a minute.  She yelled acrossed the store, “I HAVE TO PEE!”

When did Christmas shopping become an event?  Christmas is the event. 

Giving gifts at Christmas is a long Christian tradition.  We may think of St. Nicholas as the father of Christmas giving.  Rather, it was the 3 Magi.  They gave the Christ child gifts to celebrate his birth.  We follow that wise gift-giving tradition when we give thoughtful, heartfelt presents wrapped in bright paper with fluffy bows.

May we not follow the blue light, 
May we follow the Light of the World,
Rev. Tracy

Leave a Reply

