>The Coming King

It may be no surprise to you that I receive devotions via e-mail.  I like to keep up with the latest technology.  At one time, e-mail devotions were the new fad.  I suspect the Twitter devotions are coming – once someone figures out how to proclaim the Good News in 160 characters or less.  Until I join Twitter and receive tweet devotions, my inbox will be where I go for spiritual nourishment. 

I get more than one e-mail devotional.  I like the quick reads that get me thinking for the rest of the day.  The “Praying the Names of God” devotional has really piqued my thought today.  The devotional is focused on the name King or melek in Hebrew.  We are reminded that God is the King of all nations.  Jesus is the King of kings and Lord of lords.  He is the Prince of peace.  All of these visions conjure up how God would like to rule in our lives and in the world.  Christ has ushered in the Kingdom of Heaven and we will soon inherit the royal inheritance through Jesus Christ.

Then, the devotional writer asked a simple question, “What would your life look like if you really believed that in just a few short years, you were going to inherit a kingdom, filled with everything your heart desired?”

I immediately thought about a castle and a crown.  I envisioned all the shoes I could ever want and a new car.  Then, I quickly realized that those things would not make me happy forever, not even for a long time.  I began to think of the Kingdom of God.

What if all of God’s children had enough to eat, necessary medical care, a safe home, clothing to keep them warm?  What if there were no crime, so no one was imprisoned?  What if there were no countries and no borders?  What if there was peace so we didn’t need rulers, earthly kings, presidents, dictators, armed forces?  What if no one was a slave and every one served one another?

It seems so for fetched that I can barely imagine it.  Yet, we pray every week, “Thy Kingdom come, Thy will be done, On earth as it is in Heaven.”  Do we believe the Kingdom will come to earth?

Leave a Reply

